
The castle sells its own ticket for less than a third of what a coach day costs, and eight of the nine coach days do not include it. Once you add the gate price back on, the comparison people actually want looks quite different from the one the prices suggest.
In this guide
- What are you actually comparing?
- The castle’s own ticket, and what it opens
- What a coach day buys that a ticket does not
- Which tours include castle entry?
- Time at the castle, tour by tour
- What does a coach day really cost?
- Doing it independently from Edinburgh
- Two people, four people, a family
- Why one listing is priced per group
- Who should just buy the ticket?
- Which to book, by situation
What are you actually comparing?
On one side, a ticket that lets you walk into Alnwick Castle. On the other, a coach seat from Edinburgh that carries you eighty miles south, shows you Northumberland on the way, and leaves you at the castle for somewhere between ninety minutes and three hours. Those are not two versions of the same purchase. They solve different problems, and the prices only look comparable because they are both numbers.
The question worth asking first is not which is better value. It is whether you have a car.
The castle’s own ticket, and what it opens
Adult admission in 2026 is £22.00 booked online, £24.45 at the gate, and £19.25 online inside the summer band that runs from 25 June to 1 September. Children aged 5 to 16 are £11.60 online, concessions £17.90, and under-fives go free.
That buys the State Rooms and their paintings, the restored Great Kitchen, three museums and two exhibitions, the Outer Bailey, the Artisans Courtyard, Dragon’s Quest, Broomstick Training and Have-a-Go Archery. It buys them from 10am until the grounds close at 5pm, rather than for the length of a coach stop. The full list is on the things to do page.
What a coach day buys that a ticket does not
Two things, and neither is admission. The first is the journey: eighty miles each way with somebody else driving, and a guide filling the road with border history you would otherwise be listening to a podcast about. The second is the rest of the itinerary — Holy Island, Bamburgh, Rosslyn Chapel, Kelso, Eyemouth. You are buying Northumberland with a castle in it.
That is a good purchase, as long as you know it is what you are buying. It is a bad purchase if what you actually wanted was three hours in front of a Canaletto.
Which tours include castle entry?
Here is the part that changes the arithmetic. Most of the listed coach days exclude castle admission. The fare carries you to Alnwick and the gate is a second payment you make on arrival.
Two listings are different. One is the castle’s own ticket, where entry is the whole product. The other is the sixteen-seat small-group day from Edinburgh Bus Station, which offers a package option with the ticket reserved in the fare — and it is the only coach here that can put you through the gate without a second transaction.
Time at the castle, tour by tour
Alnwick Castle recommends allowing at least two to three hours. Hold every coach stop against that number rather than against the length of the day out, because a nine-hour day is mostly the A1.
| Tour | Fare | Length of day | At the castle | Castle entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alnwick: Alnwick Castle Ticket | From $29 per person | Valid 1 day from first activation | Not stated | Included |
| Harry Potter's Alnwick Castle and Scottish Borders Day Trip | From $75 per person | 9 hours 30 minutes | 2 hours 30 minutes | Extra, at the gate |
| From Edinburgh: Day Trip to Bamburgh and Alnwick Castle | From $78 per person | 8 hours 30 minutes | Not stated | Extra, at the gate |
| From Edinburgh: Holy Island, Alnwick Castle & Northumbria | From $78 per person | 9 hours | Not stated | Extra, at the gate |
| Edinburgh: Holy Island, Alnwick Castle & Kingdom of Northumbria | From $80 per person | 9 hours 30 minutes | 2 hours 30 minutes | Extra, at the gate |
| 1 Day Alnwick Castle, Holy Island & Scottish Borders | From $81 per person | 10 hours | 3 hours | Extra, at the gate |
| Alnwick Castle, Northumberland and Borders Small-Group Tour | From $89 per person | 9 hours | 3 hours | Included with the package option |
| Viking Coast and Alnwick Castle Very Small Group Tour from Edinburgh | From $95 per person | 9 hours | 2 hours 30 minutes | Extra, at the gate |
| Alnwick Castle and Rosslyn Chapel Day Tour from Edinburgh | From $138 per person | 9 hours | 2 hours | Extra, at the gate |
| Harry Potter, Alnwick Castle, Bamburgh Castle, Seals Tour | From $926 per group (up to 4) | 9 hours | 1 hour 30 minutes | Extra, at the gate |
Fares and stop lengths from the listings, 26 August 2026. Castle admission is set separately by Alnwick Castle.
Compare every Alnwick Castle tour
What does a coach day really cost?
Add adult admission to the fare and the ordering changes. At the standard online rate of £22.00 — roughly $30 — the cheapest coach day moves from about $75 to about $105 a head, and every other coach moves with it. The castle’s own ticket does not move at all, because the gate is already in it.
That is not an argument against the coaches. It is an argument for doing the sum before you book, because the number on the front of a listing is not the number you will spend.
Doing it independently from Edinburgh
Possible, and harder than it looks. Alnwick is eighty miles south of Edinburgh with no direct train: the East Coast Main Line stops at Alnmouth, three and a half miles from the castle, and you finish the journey by taxi or local bus. By car it is about two hours each way.
If you have a car, this is comfortably the best option and it is not close. If you do not, the coach exists precisely because the last three and a half miles are awkward. The routes are set out in the getting-here guide.
Two people, four people, a family
Group size changes the answer, and it changes it twice.
For two adults, the gap between a ticket and a coach day is roughly the fare, doubled. For a family of four the castle’s family ticket at £64.20 online is the cheapest option here by a distance, and four coach seats plus four admissions is a substantial afternoon. And for exactly four travellers there is a third answer: the private car, priced per group rather than per seat, which at four people works out near $232 each.
Why one listing is priced per group
The private day is quoted for the vehicle, not the seat — one fare covers up to four people, with hotel or cruise-ship collection, snacks and bottled water. The headline figure is therefore not comparable with the others, and quoting it beside “per person” would be a false statement about money.
What it does not buy is time at Alnwick: the castle stop is ninety minutes, the shortest listed anywhere. It is a coast day with a castle in it, and an excellent one, but not the way to see the State Rooms.
Who should just buy the ticket?
- Anyone with a car. The castle is less than a mile off the A1 and there is parking on site.
- Anyone staying in Northumberland. Alnmouth, Bamburgh, Seahouses, Berwick — you are already closer than any coach starts.
- Anyone who came for the interiors. The State Rooms, the Great Kitchen and the museums need the time a coach cannot give.
- Families with under-fives. Free at the castle, and refused outright by some of the coach operators.
- Wheelchair users. The castle is accessible; almost every coach listing states it is not.
Which to book, by situation
| Your situation | Book this | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You have a car | The castle’s own ticket | A quarter the price, and the whole day rather than a slot |
| Edinburgh, no car, castle is the point | The small-group day, package option | Three hours at Alnwick and the ticket reserved in the fare |
| Edinburgh, no car, want a day out | A Holy Island or Bamburgh day | Two landmarks and the coast, with the castle in the middle |
| Here for the films | The Harry Potter day trip | The lowest coach fare, two and a half hours, and the Bailey |
| Four of you, want the day to yourselves | The private car | One fare for the group, collected from the door |
| Travelling with a toddler | The castle’s own ticket | Under-fives free, and no coach age limit to clear |
A decision table rather than a ranking — both options are good, and the right one depends on where you are starting.
Frequently asked questions
Is it cheaper to buy an Alnwick Castle ticket or a tour?
The ticket, by a wide margin — adult admission is £22.00 online against coach fares starting around $75 before admission is added. The tour is buying you the eighty miles from Edinburgh and a second landmark, not a cheaper way through the gate.
Which Alnwick Castle tours include entry?
Only a couple. The castle’s own entry ticket, where admission is the product, and the sixteen-seat small-group day from Edinburgh Bus Station when you select its package option. On the rest, the gate is a second payment on arrival.
How much extra is castle entry on a coach day?
Adult admission is £22.00 online, £24.45 at the gate, and £19.25 online in the summer band. Where an operator sells it at check-in, that is usually the better rate than paying at the gate.
Can I get to Alnwick Castle from Edinburgh without a tour?
Yes, but the last stretch is awkward. There is no direct train — the line stops at Alnmouth, three and a half miles away, and you finish by taxi or bus. By car it is about two hours.
Is the private tour worth it?
For exactly four travellers who want collection from the door and the day to themselves, the per-group price works out close to a coach seat each. For time at the castle it is the weakest option listed, at ninety minutes.
Every option weighed up here is compared side by side — fare, group cap, time at the castle and what the fare covers — on Alnwick Castle Tours.
Tours that fit this
Chosen for what this guide works through.


Harry Potter, Alnwick Castle, Bamburgh Castle, Seals Tour
From $926 per group (up to 4)
Check Availability