
Group caps run from four to forty-seven, time at the castle from ninety minutes to three hours, and two of the listings are the same coach sold twice. None of that is visible on a price-sorted grid.
In this guide
- How do these tours actually differ?
- Group size: four to forty-seven
- Time at the castle: ninety minutes to three hours
- What is included, and what you pay on the day
- The Edinburgh operators, one by one
- Why do two listings look identical?
- Holy Island days against Bamburgh days
- Who gets turned away?
- Toilets, WiFi and the things listed as not included
- Accessibility, honestly
- The private option
- Which should you pick?
How do these tours actually differ?
Sorted by price they look interchangeable: a cluster of nine-hour coach days out of Edinburgh, within twenty dollars of each other, all going to the same castle. Sort them by anything you would actually notice and they are not remotely alike.
Four things separate them, and none of the four is visible on a price grid: how many people are on the vehicle, how long you get at Alnwick, what the fare actually covers, and who the operator will refuse to carry.
Group size: four to forty-seven
The spread here is wider than on most sheets. One listing is a private car for up to four. Several cap at sixteen in a minibus. One runs a thirty-three-seat midi-coach and one seats up to forty-seven.
You feel that difference at every stop rather than on the road. Forty-odd people clearing one castle entrance takes time out of your two-and-a-half-hour visit; twelve people do not. One operator markets its average group as around twelve rather than its cap, which is a fair description of what it feels like.
Time at the castle: ninety minutes to three hours
This is the number that decides whether you have seen Alnwick or driven past it, and the castle’s own advice is to allow at least two to three hours.
| Tour | At the castle | Length of day | Group cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alnwick Castle, Northumberland and Borders Small-Group Tour | 3 hours | 9 hours | 16 |
| Alnwick: Alnwick Castle Ticket | Not stated | Valid 1 day from first activation | Not stated |
| Alnwick Castle and Rosslyn Chapel Day Tour from Edinburgh | 2 hours | 9 hours | 16 |
| Viking Coast and Alnwick Castle Very Small Group Tour from Edinburgh | 2 hours 30 minutes | 9 hours | 16 |
| From Edinburgh: Day Trip to Bamburgh and Alnwick Castle | Not stated | 8 hours 30 minutes | Not stated |
| From Edinburgh: Holy Island, Alnwick Castle & Northumbria | Not stated | 9 hours | Not stated |
| Harry Potter's Alnwick Castle and Scottish Borders Day Trip | 2 hours 30 minutes | 9 hours 30 minutes | 16 |
| Harry Potter, Alnwick Castle, Bamburgh Castle, Seals Tour | 1 hour 30 minutes | 9 hours | 4 |
| Edinburgh: Holy Island, Alnwick Castle & Kingdom of Northumbria | 2 hours 30 minutes | 9 hours 30 minutes | 47 |
| 1 Day Alnwick Castle, Holy Island & Scottish Borders | 3 hours | 10 hours | 33 |
Stops as stated on each listing, 26 August 2026. “Not stated” means the operator does not commit to a figure.
Compare every Alnwick Castle tour
Two listings give three hours. Several give two and a half. The shortest stop, ninety minutes, belongs to the most expensive listing on the sheet — which is a good illustration of why price is the wrong sort order.
What is included, and what you pay on the day
Most of these fares cover the coach, the driver-guide and the commentary, and nothing else. You pay castle admission separately on most of them, you buy your own food and drink on almost all of them, and gratuities are excluded wherever they are mentioned at all.
Two listings break that pattern. The castle’s own ticket is admission and nothing but. The small-group day from Edinburgh Bus Station offers a package option with the ticket reserved in the fare, which no other coach here can do.
The Edinburgh operators, one by one
Six operators run these departures, and their characters differ more than their prices.
- Rabbies Trail Burners — sixteen-seat Mercedes minibuses from Edinburgh Bus Station, three hours at Alnwick, and the package option that includes the ticket.
- Timberbush Tours — full-size coaches from Castle Terrace, the Holy Island itinerary, digital translations in seven languages.
- Highland Explorer Tours — sixteen seats from the Royal Mile, the Harry Potter framing, and the lowest coach fare listed.
- Haggis Adventures — the shortest day at eight and a half hours, downloadable audio guides, Bamburgh and Alnwick only.
- Heart of Scotland Tours — the smallest group of the coach operators, averaging around twelve, with six stops.
- The Hairy Coo — a thirty-three-seat midi-coach, ten hours, three hours at Alnwick and storytelling the whole way south.
- E2G Travel — the private car, collected from your door, priced per group.
Why do two listings look identical?
Two of the listings here are one coach. Same operator, same departure point at Castle Terrace, same what3words reference, same itinerary, same minimum age, same wording on collapsible wheelchairs. They differ in fare by about two dollars and in published review count by a factor of three, because each platform counts only its own reviews.
Neither figure is wrong and neither tour is better. If you were choosing between them on rating, you were comparing two counters rather than two coaches. Book whichever platform you would rather deal with, and take the cheaper fare.
Holy Island days against Bamburgh days
The itineraries split cleanly in two, and the split matters more than the operator.
Holy Island days pair Alnwick with Lindisfarne. They are the longest on the sheet at nine to ten hours, because the causeway floods twice a day and the route has to work around the tide. They can be reordered or curtailed by the sea, and one operator publishes three 2026 dates when it will not attempt the crossing at all.
Bamburgh days are shorter and more predictable, with no tidal constraint, and on most of them Bamburgh is a view from the village rather than a visit. The comparison is worked through in the Alnwick against Bamburgh post.
Who gets turned away?
The castle has effectively no lower age limit and under-fives are free. The coaches are stricter, and they disagree with each other.
| Minimum age | What the operator carries |
|---|---|
| 4 years | Children under four are not permitted on the tour |
| 5 years | Under-fives refused, including infants who do not need a seat |
| 7 years | Also carries no animals at all, assistance dogs included |
| 12 years | Adults and over-12s only |
| None stated | Includes the castle’s own entry ticket |
Minimum ages from the operators’ own listings.
If you are travelling with young children, this table decides your booking before anything else here does.
Toilets, WiFi and the things listed as not included
A quirk of how these listings are written: amenities the vehicle does not have appear in the excluded column, alongside food and gratuities. So a coach may show “restroom on board” and “WiFi on board” among the things you are not getting.
That is worth reading properly rather than skimming. On a nine- or ten-hour day the absence of a toilet is a real planning input, and the operators that lack one build frequent comfort stops into the route instead.
Accessibility, honestly
The castle provides wheelchair access, accessible parking, accessible toilets and scooter hire. Almost every coach listing here states that it is not wheelchair accessible, and the two that bend will carry a collapsible chair with removable wheels only when a companion travels to help with boarding.
The gap between an accessible castle and inaccessible transport is the honest answer to a common question, and it points you one way: drive, or take the train to Alnmouth and a taxi. The detail is on the visiting page.
The private option
One listing is a private car for up to four, priced per group rather than per seat, with collection from your hotel, apartment or cruise ship, snacks, bottled water and fish for the seals at Eyemouth. Split four ways it lands near a premium coach seat each.
What it does not buy is time at Alnwick: ninety minutes, the shortest listed. It is a coast day with a castle in it, and it is the only listing carrying infant seats and stroller access.
Which should you pick?
| What matters most | Look at |
|---|---|
| Time at the castle | The three-hour stops: the small-group day, or the ten-hour coach |
| Lowest total cost | The castle’s own ticket, if you can reach Alnwick |
| Not being on a big coach | The twelve-average small group, or a sixteen-seat minibus |
| Castle entry handled for you | The small-group day’s package option |
| Travelling with a four-year-old | The one coach with a minimum age of four |
| Four of you, door to door | The private car |
| The film locations | The Harry Potter day trip, or the four-location small-group day |
The shortest route to a decision, once price stops being the sort order.
Frequently asked questions
Which Alnwick Castle tour is best?
It depends on what you are optimising for. The three-hour stops win on time at the castle, the castle’s own ticket wins on total cost, and the departure averaging around twelve wins on group size.
Which tour gives the most time at Alnwick Castle?
Two of them give three hours: the sixteen-seat small-group day from Edinburgh Bus Station and the ten-hour coach day that also visits Holy Island. Everything else runs between ninety minutes and two and a half hours.
Why do two listings have the same itinerary?
Because they are the same coach, sold on two booking platforms. Same operator, same departure point, same itinerary; the fares differ slightly and the review counts differ a lot, because each platform counts only its own.
How big are the groups?
From four to forty-seven. A private car takes four, several minibuses cap at sixteen, one midi-coach seats thirty-three and one coach seats up to forty-seven.
Do any of these tours include castle entry?
Only a couple. The castle’s own ticket, and the small-group day when you select its package option. On the rest, admission is paid at the gate.
Which tours are wheelchair accessible?
Almost none of the coaches. Two will carry a collapsible chair with removable wheels if a companion travels to help with boarding. The castle itself is accessible, so driving or a taxi from Alnmouth is the practical route.
Every option weighed up here is compared side by side — fare, group cap, time at the castle and what the fare covers — on Alnwick Castle Tours.
Tours that fit this
Chosen for what this guide works through.

